It’s beginning to feel a lot like Autumn ….

There was definitely a bit of a nip in the air this morning that makes you remember those back to school morning walks. This morning though instead of a backpack full of books and marmite and cheese sandwiches, it was a bin bag, litter picker and secateurs.

As you can probably imagine, litter picking is not always the most glamorous element of the Lengthsman life. (Although to be honest, glamour is lacking in pretty much all aspects of the job, thankfully!) I shan’t  spoil your lunch by detailing the nature of the finds, but needless to say a large portion is always dog-related but that is a people issue not a dog issue.

Litter picking is however always a great oportunity to chat to people and dogs that you just can’t get when you are attached to a strimmer or on the other end of a chainsaw. Today I got to meet a lovely bouncy boxer named Gertie, a newly rescued beautiful Staffy cross ( I might be a bit biased, I have one of those of my own at home ), a spaniel, 2 collies, 2 Labradors and their respective 2 legged families. Chatting to other people who love the river is always a joy and the dogs were clearly loving it too.

 

I certainly wouldn’t have spotted this Speckled Wood butterfly having breakfast if I was strimming.

 I might not have taken a minute to notice the beautiful view. I choose not to see the heavens above Newark Priory about to open but a pretty and dramatic sky that isn’t raining on me….. yet! In litter picking, as in life, you have to look for the positives….

Leave a Reply

